Breaking The Silence of Autism

Toy Story 3 here we come

We are off to see Toy Story 3. Gavin is on his way with Grandpa to go visit Great Grandma Gene. Gavin cannot sit through a movie at the theater (probably a sensory related thing) so it really is unfair of us to make him go just so we can all do something as a family. He’ll have a blast with Grandpa so I don’t feel so bad.

Maybe I’ll try to get him to a dollar movie this summer and see how he does. I would love to see a movie with him again. The last one we went to was “Over The Hedge” and Gavin was freaked out by the “hedge” not the scary bear. We get up and leave every time. But I like trying every once in a while because he really wants to go. He just can’t handle it.

Anyways I’ll let you know how it goes with a 4year old and a 2 year old.

LT

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

2 responses

  1. I don’t know where you are in the world, but if you’re in the states, AMC theatres have “sensory friendly” movies once a month – not all of them, you’d have to go to their website to check. But they don’t do previews, turn down the noise, and leave the lights mostly up. It’s the only way my son could tolerate a movie for a long time. Just now, after 4 or 5 sensory friendly movies, he was able to handle a regular theatre with his noise cancelling headphones worn for the previews. He was still pretty squirrely, but he made it through! I hope you are somewhere close to an AMC that does it!

    June 27, 2010 at 3:38 pm

    • Thanks. We are in northeast Ohio and I believe we have that in the Cleveland area. I wish they did that more often though. Thanks Again.

      June 28, 2010 at 12:20 am

Leave a comment